Family member holds title to my car

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Family member holds title to my car

Short and sweet - My credit sucks, a family member bought a car for me and I make payments, I put $10,000 down & owe family member another $10,000. I've been making payments. Is this legal? Will this be viewed as Preferential Treatment?

A question first - do you and the relative have a legal, signed, notarized loan agreement with signatures on it for the $10K? Or is it a "handshake" deal?
    I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice nor a statement of the law - only a lawyer can provide those.

06/01/06 - Filed Ch 13
    06/28/06 - 341 Meeting
    07/18/06 - Confirmation Hearing - not confirmed, 3 objections
    10/05/06 - Hearing to resolve 2 trustee objections
    01/24/07 - Judge dismisses mortgage company objection
    09/27/07 - Confirmed at last!
    06/10/11 - Trustee confirms all payments made
    08/10/11 - DISCHARGED !

10/02/11 - CASE CLOSED
    Countdown: 60 months paid, 0 months to go

Comment

right now, "handshake deal" but I haven't filed yet, so not sure what to do. I gave my Mom $10,000 towards a $20,000 car - title is currently in her name, not sure what I should do..HELP!

Comment

How long ago did you give the 10k?
        May 31st, 2007: Petition Filed by my lawyer
        July 2nd, 2007: 341 Meeting Held
        September 4th, 2007: Discharged and Closed.

Comment

Sounds like you are actually renting use of the car from her.
          filed chapter 13..confirmed...converted to chapter 7...DISCHARGED!

Comment

Originally posted by catleg View Post
            Sounds like you are actually renting use of the car from her.
            That's the ticket. I like that answer. Still the open question, how long ago. You sure do not want to look like preferential or insider payment. 'Hub