Considering filing in Minneapolis

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Considering filing in Minneapolis

I have been considering filing for about 2 years. My situation can be summarized pretty easily:

I had a rental property and a primary residence. I allowed some unethical people to live in my renal and they did not pay rent and destroyed the house. I have pictures. I borrowed a lot of money to repair the house and put another unethical renter in it. They didn't destroy the house but instead chose not to pay rent. The legal fees associated with evicting them was extensive and as a result I had to borrow more money to get the house back. At that point, I put the house on the market to try to sell it. The market was not moving and neither was my house. I had no renters in it to suppliment the mortgage and after paying two mortgages for a couple months realized I could not continue to do so. I lost the house.

On the house, I had a primary and a secondary mortgage. During the sheriffs sale, the house sold for 145K. The amount owed on it was about 185K. This means that the primary mortgage was paid off but the second mortgage was not. I'm concerned that the secondary mortgage holder will attempt to collect the unpaid 40K and that is at the center of my question. You see, I can probably dig out of the credit card debt I've accumulated over the last 4 years by myself but if the secondary mortgage holder comes after me for the outstanding balance I'll have no possibility of paying that off.

I was hoping to solicit some feedback from you on this and find out what the best option is for me in this situation. Have you seen this problem before and if so how should I proceed?

All in all unsecured debt is around 13.5K (managable)
    Second Mortgage debt 40K (unmanagable and unsure if they are going to persue)

Please respond to this and advise if you have any recommendations. I'd like to avoid bankruptcy if at all possible.

Kind Regards