Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Question File Bk or debt restructure

Hello-
    I just talked to a lawyer today and the outcome of filing BK seems pretty grim. He said that the way creditors do business following a BK has changed in the past 2 months.

It used to be that creditors would approve credit knowing you can't file for another 8 years.

I'm in the process of getting divorced, I'm going to nursing school and will not be done till 2012. I have very little income. I will probably keep the house and the vehicle is paid off.

Long story short, I have no family where I live now. I just want to finish school, sell the home and move back to the state where my family lives.

I'm a broke student and will not have a decent income till I'm done...the nursing profession is strong and I shouldn't have any problems finding a job anywhere I go.

My concern is whether or not I'll be eligible to purchase a home in the next 2-3 years or if I'd be eligible for a car loan.

I'm wondering if I went the route of debt re-settlement. I have a legal plan with my work and there is a paralegal who will contact all the creditor and try to strike a deal to pay off the debt. Negotiations take about 6-12 mos. The pit fall would be that I'd have to immeadiatley come up with amount they settled on and pay taxes on the remaining forgiven debt. The only way I'd be able to pay off the settled amount is if I take a loan against my 401k...I'd pay myself back. I may benefit from doing this now since my income is so little, I doubt this will have little impact on my taxes.

I guess my final question is.....would my credit rating be better off if I sell it....or would it be practically the same if i just file bk?

Any advise would be appreciated.

Thanks,
    Wender

he only way I'd be able to pay off the settled amount is if I take a loan against my 401k