Effect of New Credit Card Law on Statements

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Effect of New Credit Card Law on Statements

I haven't yet stopped paying my CCs. Because of the new law, one of my credit card statements now has a section telling me that if I pay the $103 minimum payment it will take me 26 years to pay it off and I will pay almost twice what my current balance is. My mortgage will be paid before that! And this card is at a very low permanent rate of 3.99%. It also says that if I pay $168 a month, the balance will be paid in 3 years.

If only I could pay another $68 and whatever else I would have to pay on my other CCs to pay them off in 3 years!

I wonder where I'd be now if that information was on all of my statements beginning about 25 years ago when I was a college student and got my first CC.

I actually look forward to seeing the first statement after I stop paying showing a 29.99% default interest rate. I can't wait to show it my middle finger!
    LadyInTheRed is in the black!
    Filed Chap 13 April 2010. Discharged May 2015.
    $143,000 in debt discharged for $36,500, including attorneys fees. Money well spent!

Ya it's crazy. I can remember back when I had a Discover Card that if I only paid the minimum each month the balance owed would actually grow by a few dollars. I think at some point they changed the law so that can't happen. But still... 26 years. Haha.

I will never carry a balance on a credit card again. Too bad I had to learn the hard way.
    Filed Chapter 7: 06/09/09
    341 Meeting: 07/16/09
    Discharged: 09/21/09
    Case Closed: 09/25/09

Comment

We just got our first statement with that info on it as well. It's really eye opening to see the math.
      I wonder where I'd be now if that information was on all of my statements beginning about 25 years ago when I was a college student and got my first CC.