SBA Loan Bankruptcy

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

SBA Loan Bankruptcy

Is an SBA Loan discharged in bankruptcy?

Typically, the short answer is yes. There are a few odd scenarios that could potentially factor in (how long ago did you take the loan, was there anything in the application that was "fraudulent", is the business still open and has assets, etc.). For a personal bankruptcy, you would simply list it on your Sch F (or Sch D if there was property used to secure the loan) and your personal liability for the loan would be discharged in a Ch 7. If the business is still "alive", they can seek a judgment against the business itself. If the business is inactive, defunct, closed, in bankruptcy or receivership, then there is simply no way for them to get the funds.

Good luck!
    I am not a lawyer - I just play one on TV. It is always in your best interest to seek legal advice from a competent attorney licensed in your state. Any information I post here should not be construed as legal advice.

Comment

Originally posted by starr4law View Post
      Typically, the short answer is yes. There are a few odd scenarios that could potentially factor in (how long ago did you take the loan, was there anything in the application that was "fraudulent", is the business still open and has assets, etc.). For a personal bankruptcy, you would simply list it on your Sch F (or Sch D if there was property used to secure the loan) and your personal liability for the loan would be discharged in a Ch 7. If the business is still "alive", they can seek a judgment against the business itself. If the business is inactive, defunct, closed, in bankruptcy or receivership, then there is simply no way for them to get the funds.

Good luck!