Does jewelry hold it's value?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Does jewelry hold it's value?

I'm thinking specifically of my wedding ring. It's just a 10 karat gold band that we paid $80 for ten years ago. No diamonds, or gems of any kind--just a band (I don't really do jewelry). I'm working on the paperwork for my attorney, and I'm trying to determine the value of my stuff. Should I put what we paid for it back then? Or has its vlaue diminished?

Obviously, I'm not an expert on jewelry.

BTW, wedding rings are not automatically exempt in my state.
    Filed Chapter 7: March 19, 2012
    Discharged! June 28, 2012
    Closed! August 8, 2012

I am sure it mean's the world to you but really has not much money value.

Comment

All jewelry loses up to 50% the minute you buy it. It is worse than a car you buy new. As a ring, and ten karat, it is called "junk jewelry" when pawn brokers buy it. I would not put more than $20.00 of value just for "scrap".

Not being rude as you cannot price sentimentality, but only it's practical value.

For others, here is how things are priced: You get an 1870s Colt revolver; it has one price, let's say $100. Now, there are papers that prove it was at Custer's Little Big horn, now it's worth $1000. Let's say you have papers to prove it was General Custer's personal gun, $10,000. What the market bears. 'Hub
      If I knew it all, would I be here?? Hang in there = Retained attorney 8-06, Filed 12-28-07, Discharge 8-13-08, Finally CLOSED 11-3-09, 3-31-10 AP Dismissed, Informed by incompetent lawyer of CLOSED status, October 14, 2010.

Comment

Thanks, Hub. I guess I don't have to worry about them taking it, then.
        Closed! August 8, 2012

Comment

I'm no jewelry appraiser, but gold has appreciated significantly over the last 10 years. The ring may still be worth $80. If you think a pawn broker would give you $40, then just put $40 gold wedding band.