Question about homestead exemption.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Question about homestead exemption.

Under the federal homestead exemption is says that you can use $10,825 that is left from the homestead exemption and apply it as a wildcard to protect other property. Can you use that exemption towards a second property? I'm married so can we double the homestead at $43,250. The home we live in has equity of $27,871, so that would leave $15379. So could we put that $15379 towards the $13,000 equity in a second home?

Thanks in advance for the advice, we really appreciate it.

According to my research, it shows me Kentucky does not allow federal exemptions. State exemptions in Kentucky on homestead shows me they are unlimited, but they would need to be applied to your homestead only. I understand that to mean you would not get the exemption for your second property.
    Please understand I am not a lawyer or giving advice here. That is what I found out with a quick search.
    If you were in a state that allowed either federal or state exemptions, you make an interesting question.

Originally posted by lexfemale27 View Post
    Under the federal homestead exemption is says that you can use $10,825 that is left from the homestead exemption and apply it as a wildcard to protect other property. Can you use that exemption towards a second property? I'm married so can we double the homestead at $43,250. The home we live in has equity of $27,871, so that would leave $15379. So could we put that $15379 towards the $13,000 equity in a second home?

Thanks in advance for the advice, we really appreciate it.

Comment

When I search, most info I find is that you can do either/or. Some do say that only Ky can be used. So confused...

Comment

Kentucky can use either exemption set.