means test question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

means test question

I'm planning on filing chapter 7 soon but not sure when to do it. I am a teacher and do not get any pay checks in July and I just get one the last day in August (normally I would not get paid in August but August is a 3 pay check month and I end up getting paid the last day of August). According to my attorney if I file in August I pass the means test (by my calculations it's close but we do pass) but I was wondering if there's any benefit to waiting until September or October to file so I can easily pass, won't even be close. The problem with September is that the six month lookback includes two months where both my husband and I earned three paychecks. So now I'm thinking October so March can drop off and I can still use my two months of no paychecks in the means test. I know this is long but if anyone has an opinion I'd appreciate it. Thanks!

welcome to the forum

Means test is only part of the issue - DMI is the other part. You can be over median and still able to file Ch. 7, or you can be under median and end up in a Ch. 13....thats where DMI comes into play. It all comes down to your monthly bills / allowances.

Search through the forum and you will find alot of info regarding how best to proceed along with many others that have had the same issue you're facing

Comment

Thank you Pandora. Believe me I constantly search these forums for information but have yet to find something that meets my exact situation. But, I'll keep checking!

Comment

As Pandora mentioned, Means Test is not the final answer.

Have you assessed your monthly net income, less monthly bills/expenses? You would not count anything that would be discharged in the bankruptcy. So ignore credit card payments. You would want to consider reasonable expenses though for your family size - not living on ramen noodles while struggling to pay on credit cards.
        ~Staci