top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Scared to file BK now! Will they take everything?!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Scared to file BK now! Will they take everything?!

Hello all, new to the forum! I am a Texas resident. I've read that Texas has some of the most lenient laws for keeping property under a Chapter 7 bankruptcy. Contrary to the thread title, I know I won't lost "everything".

I know there's a $30,000 limit on personal property in Texas, but can anyone tell me exactly what to expect? I'm planning on voluntarily surrendering the car I have a loan on. My second car (will become my primary) is worth $10.5k– I own it outright.

If you come into my home (I do not own the home) and assess my property, you won't find $30k worth. I believe it's substantially less. 2 firearms, which I know are exempt.

What do you think the trustee will want to take? I have 2 computers (essential for work), Playstation, XBOX, 65" LED TV, 88-key synthesizer... my electronics are obviously the thing I'm worried about. Would it all simply be exempt because the aggregate fair market value is under $30k?

Please advise... I feel overwhelmed by credit card debt and bankruptcy seems like the appropriate thing to do right now, but I feel sick just thinking about them raiding my house to take what they want.

I have had a lawyer consultation but haven't retained her yet. I'd love to hear from a variety of sources who aren't just trying to sell me something

Thanks in advance, all.
    ¤ Chapter 7 Filing — October 17, 2013
    ¤ ¤ § 341 Meeting — November 14, 2013
    ¤ ¤ ¤ Discharge — January 18, 2014

Hi FH:

Welcome to the Forum.