so called "chapter 20"

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

so called "chapter 20"

One bankruptcy strategy used involves the filing of a Chapter 7 bankruptcy, which discharges most, if not all, of the filer's debt obligations. Then a Chapter 13 bankruptcy is filed to repay the secured creditors, tax obligations, and any nondischargeable debts. Thus, a Chapter 7 followed by a Chapter 13 is the so-called artificial attorney-created "Chapter 20" bankruptcy. Attempting a Chapter 20 can be quite complex and is very risky if not done correctly.

The use of "Chapter 20" was deliberately restricted by the provisions of the 2005 bk law amendments which allow a discharge in a 13 following a 7 only when specified time has passed after the Ch 7 is discharged.
    I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice nor a statement of the law - only a lawyer can provide those.

06/01/06 - Filed Ch 13
    06/28/06 - 341 Meeting
    07/18/06 - Confirmation Hearing - not confirmed, 3 objections
    10/05/06 - Hearing to resolve 2 trustee objections
    01/24/07 - Judge dismisses mortgage company objection
    09/27/07 - Confirmed at last!
    06/10/11 - Trustee confirms all payments made
    08/10/11 - DISCHARGED !

10/02/11 - CASE CLOSED
    Countdown: 60 months paid, 0 months to go

Comment

I know the "good faith" is the issue but if your ch 7 was a no asset case and your under water on the first mortgage alone would that be strong enough evidence to avoid any questions of BK abuse while attempting a lien strip in a ch 13?
      11/23/'10-filed ch 13. 1/6/'11-341, confirmed. Below median. Plan completed 11/30/2015. DISSCHARGED 4/4/2016.JP

Comment

A few questions.