2020 charge offs, 2021 Tax filing, and debt cancellation during a 2022 bk

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

2020 charge offs, 2021 Tax filing, and debt cancellation during a 2022 bk

Its coming time to file 2021 taxes. As i reviewed the 1040 Schedule 1 form as well as IRS Pub 4681 (Canceled Debts, Foreclosures, Repossessions, and Abandonments), I see mention in Part 1 Line 8 (c) for Cancellation of debt. I am just beginning to wrap my head around this but have some questions.

Original creditors charged off balances in 2020 (i think?). Throughout 2020 or 2021, I did not receive any 1099-C or 1009-MISC notices from them. I havent gotten any notice like that in 2022. Is this triggered after a bankruptcy is filed or goes through?

If a bk is being planned during 2022, is this something that i will need to deal with next year when i file 2022 taxes?

Should i be waiting till last minute to file my 2021 taxes to see if i get a 1099 from them? I do not want to do that as if this experience has taught me anything is to get ahead of the dominos that may fall ahead.

If a BK in 2022 takes forever and is eventually successful, I assume an amended return would cure it

edit: I can not understand the reasoning that debt owed is income received. Especially since large portions of rolled over debt year to year is interest that is income to the creditor! Yet they write it off as an 'expense' and I receive it as taxable income. Then i have to also pay Uncle Sam tax for something not originally owed to him.

edit 2: re-reading page 3 of Pub 4681, it says "Form 1099-C If you receive a Form 1099-C, that means an applicable entity has reported an identifiable event to the IRS regarding a debt you owe....Code A—Bankruptcy. Code A is used to identify cancellation of debt as a result of a title 11 bankruptcy case."