top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

1099-MISC received -- should it have been a 1099-C?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1099-MISC received -- should it have been a 1099-C?

Kind of an odd situation due to my profession. I am an insurance agent. My Chapter 7 discharge date was 01/18/2014.

Of all my creditors, I've received one 1099-C so far (from a credit card company.) Entered it into TurboTax along with Form 982 appropriately to claim discharge due to bankruptcy. Cool, done.

Now I get a 1099-MISC from an insurance company I used to write business for. I had an agent debit balance around $3000 (money I had received as income on the promise that my clients would pay it back via their monthly premiums. A lot of those contracts fell through, so *I* was responsible for paying it back. I paid back around $2200 before I filed for Chapter 7 protection. (As an insurance agent, this money is not necessarily reported to the IRS as income on the year it's earned.)

So now I get a 1099-MISC in the mail with the remaining $800 reported as income. On one hand... I guess it is considered income. I was paid this money years ago. I was then required to pay it BACK to the insurance company, but filed BK. However, Chapter 7 prevented me from being obligated to repay this income back to them. So they're just writing off the $800 anyway.

Am I responsible for paying taxes on that $800 now? Or should I have been absolved of all responsibility to this balance the day I filed BK?

Sorry it sounds so convoluted... I promise it isn't. I just expected to get a 1099-C, not a 1099-MISC.
    ¤ Chapter 7 Filing — October 17, 2013
    ¤ ¤ § 341 Meeting — November 14, 2013
    ¤ ¤ ¤ Discharge — January 18, 2014