Do you like MAC computers?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Do you like MAC computers?

My computer is old and slow and will eventually need to be replaced. Several poeple have told me how much the like Mac computers - better performance, no need to do virus scans or regular computer mantainence like deleting temporary files. I like the idea of a computer that might be easier to mantain since I'm not good at fixing them when there are problems.

The only problem is the MAC computers are much more expensive than other computers and don't seen to go on sale. Is the MAC worth the price - is it really a better computer - or is this just hype?

Do I like Mac? NO!

I have 40 years in business machines, mainframes, minis, and micros.

Mac is extremely proprietary. You cannot get off the shelf parts. It is not true that Macs need no virus protection. They do. Temp files are not used by operating systems as much as applications. Word is written into a temp file so that it can be "UNDO" at times as well as others. The memory management swap file is a temporary file. Mac uses this too.

If my PC gets hit my lightning and my either net port goes out, I can turn off the port in the BIOS settings and install a ten dollar NIC card. If a Mac gets hit, you get to buy a main board.

Mac is a good operating system, true. It does well in graphics, true. For normal use, you would be far ahead in any PC based item. Only my (professional) opinion. 'Hub
    If I knew it all, would I be here?? Hang in there = Retained attorney 8-06, Filed 12-28-07, Discharge 8-13-08, Finally CLOSED 11-3-09, 3-31-10 AP Dismissed, Informed by incompetent lawyer of CLOSED status, October 14, 2010.

Comment

years ago, i swore by macs... then friends would send me slick programs and stuff and the mac wouldnt open them... no more macs for me, as i use my computer mainly for internet stuff..
      "it looks like i picked a bad day to give up sniffing glue"! [McKroskey, airplane]

Comment