Unorthodox housing...anyone??? (long)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Unorthodox housing...anyone??? (long)

Didn't really know how to ask the question that I wanted to ask but... We bought a nice sized brick home in a fairly nice neighborhood a little over 8 years ago. We are giving up the house in CH7 and hopefully will be discharged in about another week. Anyways, It's a great home but I (we've) pretty much decided that we don't like people just kiddin (not really) haha, and we'd like to have some land to ourselves. After this we will be renting for at least a year but hopefully no more than two and can start building something.

I would like to build a house myself or at least the majority of it. I have no experience but I've never met a challenge that I couldn't do yet. It's just the learning curve is always pretty steep. I also have a number of friends with different trade skills that I can look to for help or advice.

So, my first thought was building a (hurricane) Katrina cottage. Lowes sells plans and you can buy the materials in stages. They had an 1800 sq ft plan that the rough dry-in cost around $35,000 at the time. Sounded good but the unknown $$$ seemed kinda scary considering I'd have to build this while working a full time job.

My second thought was a steel frame home kit. They often go together like an erector set with pieces numbered and/or color coded. With the exception of the heavier pieces I would be able to frame it by myself and a few pieces of equipment. But, again, some of the costs were higher up front and unkowns gave me pause. My biggest concerns is how fast I can get the thing dried-in.