Job application

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Job application

I was filling out an online job app when I came to the question - 'why did you leave your last employer' which one of the selections I could make was 'fired' which is what happened. Then the followup question is asking 'why'. I do not believe in lying about anything but what is my obligation here to be forthcoming? Just an FYI, I was fired unjustifiably, in my opinion, but the reality was, I was fired. What was reported by my employer to the state work force commission, for unemployment benefits, was that I was fired for 'unprofessional behavior' which is very subjective. I did not break any specific work place policies. The process which led up to my dismissal was when I started making noises, department internal only, about unsafe practices for both staff and patients. I work in health care. A separate question begs to be asked. Do I have a case for wrongful termination? Would I have whistle blower status?

It's illegal for prospective employers to call former employers to ask about prior job performance. The most that can be discussed is to verify that you worked at the former employer's place of business. I would say that I was "laid off" even if the only option is fired. That's mostly what is going on in this horrible economy.
    Filed August 20 341 on September 23 Report of No Distribution - September 24 Case Discharged and Closed on November 23!!!

Comment

As to the last part of your question above, only a Labor Law attorney would be able to answer your question about if you have any recourse against your former employer. It all depends on what happened, your side of the story, their side of the story, documentation, documents you signed, etc., etc. The best thing to do is make an appointment with a Labor law attorney and take all your documentation from your previous job situation with you for them to review.