top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

VA Home Loans - Anyone with experience post BK?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

VA Home Loans - Anyone with experience post BK?

I'm amazed at the great deals out there and thinking about trying for a mortgage. I know it's a slim shot since I just got out of BK. But we are talking home for under $100k - monthly payments less than my rent!

As a Vet I have access to the VA Loan program - a benefit I never used and am entitled to.

Anyone with any experience with VA post bk?
    Filed Chapter 7 Pro-Se May 29, 2008
    341 July 1, 2008
    Discharged September 4, 2008
    Closed November 10, 2008 :-)

They may make you wait 2 years, we are almost 3 years out from a foreclosure and we are having issues with our VA financing. The only negative on our credit is the foreclosure, nothing but good credit otherwise. We got our Cert of Elig. no problem, but the banks are being difficult. They gave us approval 2 months ago, now they are pulling it back. We are fighting every step of the way, you would think that since it is secured by VA that it would be easier but it's not. We were supposed to close a couple weeks ago but we are still waiting for our clear to close. It sucks!

Comment

thanks for the quick response! I never bk'd or foreclosed on a home. I wonder if this would make a difference?

btw - are you trying for the VA loan from NFCU or somewhere else?
      341 July 1, 2008

Comment

No, not NFCU, GMAC and Wells Fargo. As long as the bank has a VA program you can use your cert anywhere. GMAC is the one the initially approved us 60 days ago and are pulling it for review now. Our loan guy also sumitted out stuff to Wells Fargo now, so we have two banks working on our file. Whoever, gives our clear to close first wins.

Comment