top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What Happens with a Tax Lien Reporting After Chapter 7 Discharge?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What Happens with a Tax Lien Reporting After Chapter 7 Discharge?

I have recently filed for Chapter 7 Bankruptcy. Included among my dischargeable debts is a sizeable amount for Federal Taxes. The IRS filed a Tax Lien in 2007. We do not own any real property. It's my understanding that, though the tax liability will be discharged, the tax lien will remain and would attach to any real property we might have owned prior to our bankruptcy - not a problem. I also have read that unpaid tax liens will stay on your credit report forever, and I'm wondering how this tax lien should report post-discharge? Technically it will not be satisfied, so will it stay there forever? Thank you for any input.

Not being a CPA, I'll try my best. Taxes are not normally discharged with rare exception. (three year s.o.l.). I believe you are stuck with the lien and whether they reported it or not, would not change anything in your bk as it is a tax instrument not dischargable. As far as the credit companies. I don't know nor do I care for myself as I would not worry about credit after my bk, but that is my own opinion. I don't know it your answer. Hope in a little way, this helps. 'Hub
    If I knew it all, would I be here?? Hang in there = Retained attorney 8-06, Filed 12-28-07, Discharge 8-13-08, Finally CLOSED 11-3-09, 3-31-10 AP Dismissed, Informed by incompetent lawyer of CLOSED status, October 14, 2010.

Comment