Modifying our payment amount.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Modifying our payment amount.

So we've been in Chapter 13 for over a year and are scheduled to be complete with BK in October 2017. (We're 100% payback @ 42 months
    I believe it was)

About 6 months ago I took a pay cut. (30%) I've been doing everything I can to keep up with the payments and haven't missed any but it's becoming a real problem for us now as our savings is depleted. I've read that it is possible to get a modification if you receive a pay cut but I can't seem to find out where to find the correct forms.

I'm doing it alone because my attorney has been paid and no longer feels obligated to assist us, it seems. He no longer responds to emails or calls and to be honest, I'd rather not deal with that arrogant pile again anyway. (Just FYI.... I've sent two emails since the confirmation, so I'm not a problem client.)

I'm in the western district of Michigan and any advise would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Scott

Yes, you should be able to get a modification, but I couldn't tell you how to do it on your own and wouldn't advise you to do so. You may want to see if you can find another attorney to take over your case. But, that might be difficult.

Have you told your attorney in an email or telephone message that you want to modify your plan because of significant reduction in income? He would be entitled to additional fees for that work and those fees would be paid out of your plan payment. So, if your theory about why he has ignored you is correct, he should be inspired to return a call regarding a modification. Dealing with an arrogant pile sure beats having your case dismissed.
    LadyInTheRed is in the black!
    Filed Chap 13 April 2010. Discharged May 2015.
    $143,000 in debt discharged for $36,500, including attorneys fees. Money well spent!

Comment

Thank you for the reply. I've sent him an email asking what steps need to be taken to accomplish this.