top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Can Plan include refi at end of 5 years?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can Plan include refi at end of 5 years?

I had one bankruptcy attorney tell me I could create a ch 13 plan including payments affordable to me on my rental properties over the next five years, then refinancing them at the end. He said if I couldn't refi, I could allow them to foreclose and at least I've gotten another five years out of my business.

Another bankruptcy attorney said no, a plan must include payments that will have the entire debt paid off in five years; a refi at the end will NOT fly as a plan.

What is the truth? Does this vary by which district you're in? Different judges? Thanks.
    I'm not a lawyer, but here's a link to my favorite bankruptycy law blog: http://www.bankruptcyorlando.com/

Whether or not the secured debt (mortgages) have to be paid in full in the plan depends on the district. Where I am, the full mortgage balance does not even if the plan is paying arrears. But (my district, again) it is different with car loans. If past due, the car loan must be paid in the plan and paid off during the plan.

I'd be wary of anyone who promises you can refi in 5 years. No way to predict that now, as it will be influenced by your income, property values, etc.
    Get mortgage modified: DONE! 7 months of back interest payments amortized, payment reduced over $200/mo
    (In the 'planning' stage, to file ch. 13 if/when we have to.)

Comment