finding of facts

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

finding of facts

i've been involed as a creditor in someone chapter 13 case, and i have the proof i'm not this person creditor on a house trailer they claim there' buying from me, so, i file an "opjection to comformation" and went to the hearing, and the first thing this person lawyer got up and asked for was a finding of facts (or something like that)

this person claims they have a contract saying there buying the trailer and i have a least stating its only a lease. i had all my paper work ready to talk, but the judge held it over for 3 weeks

i have all my facts and this lawyer was faxed all the lease agreements and such, weeks ago.

what can i do, but, just show up with my documents?

You should have received notice of when this person's 341 meeting is scheduled in court - did you? Are you representing yourself or have you retained a lawyer to help you?
    I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice nor a statement of the law - only a lawyer can provide those.

06/01/06 - Filed Ch 13
    06/28/06 - 341 Meeting
    07/18/06 - Confirmation Hearing - not confirmed, 3 objections
    10/05/06 - Hearing to resolve 2 trustee objections
    01/24/07 - Judge dismisses mortgage company objection
    09/27/07 - Confirmed at last!
    06/10/11 - Trustee confirms all payments made
    08/10/11 - DISCHARGED !

10/02/11 - CASE CLOSED
    Countdown: 60 months paid, 0 months to go

Comment

My assumptions based upon your post.

1. Debtor's Chapter 13 Plan is paying you as a secured creditor based upon the value (not the amount owed) of the trailer.

2. You are claiming the Plan cannot do that since the trailer is being leased to the debtor - and, if it is a lease, you would be correct.

3. The Debtor's attorney is claiming it is a purchase not a lease and wants you to prove otherwise. If it is a purcahse contract, payment through the Plan is correct.

Am I close?

In general a contract is a lease if: