What determines payback months?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What determines payback months?

How is the time period of the payment plan determined? For instance, with my income doing 100% over 5yrs gives me 600 more dollars a month than making minimum payments and the payment on a piece of property that i will be surrendering. But lets say what they consider to be disposable income could pay it back in 4yrs at 100%, will they force me to do 4yrs at 100% instead of 5 at 100% if the DMI is there?

I am not an expert, but I think they use your DMI to calculate the payment. If you are paying 100% and it is paid early, your payments end early (4 years instead of 5).

Comment

The trustee can object to the plan based on not committing the full amount of the DMI to the plan. Depending on the trustee and your Atty they can usually reach a compromise. If not then they could go before the judge.

Good luck
      Disclaimer: I am not an actor on TV, but I play a BK Paralegal in real life. Nothing I say should be construed as legal advice, or really anything but entertainment. Please seek out professional help.

Comment

The length of your Plan is based upon numerous factors:

1. If you are above median income your commitment period is 60 months unless you pay all allowed claims in full before the 60th month - sounds like you.

2. If you are below median income your commitment period is 36 months however you can fund a plan for as much as 60 months.

3. Your ability to pay based upon your real but reasonable budget.

4. What you are required to pay under law - administrative fees, priority creditors, secured creditors (for collateral you are keeping), mortgage arrears if any, and the value of your non-exempt property etc.