Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can this be included in chapter 13?

Hi everyone,

I am new here..I just joined...I just wanted to ask if I can include a something in chapter 13.

I have rims and tires that I have rented from a known company...I have been paying on them for over 8 months now..and I am about to file a chapter 13 this week. I just wanted to know if I can included them in the plan..I am 2 weeks behind in payments at this time. Thanks everyone!

you have a contract with them, cant you just return the rims?
    Ch 7 filed 8/15/11 341 9/22/11 Discharge 11/28/11
    The rebuilding begins

Comment

Cant return them

HI..thanks for your reply....I can yes...but I have paid on them for over 8 months now and want to keep them..also..if I return themmm I will not have wheels at all!!

Comment

If it is a true "lease" and not a disguised purchase, then you must continue to pay the lease payments or return the property. If you are behind in the lease the Plan can provide for the "curing" of the delinquency but going forward payments must be made to the creditor. (How does one "lease" tires and rims - the tires are expendable and, after, what 60k miles, are worthless - never heard of such a lease but. . .)

If it is a purchase - meaning that at the end of the term of the "lease" the item belongs to you without you having to pay a lump sum amount for the item's "fair market value", then you can treat the lender as secured through the Plan. While you can attempt a cram down, since the item was purchased within 1 year of the filing, the lender could object to anything less than the full purchase price.

My spin, treat it as secured with a cram down and wait to see what happens. You can always change the treatment if an objection is raised.

Des.

Comment

Originally posted by despritfreya View Post