Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Firefighter in need of help....please.

Hello to all,

My wife and I are currently in the home stretch of our Chapter 13 repayment. We are in a 100% repay. We have about 4 of payments remaining of a 4-1/2 year plan. We put both vehicles and all credit card debt into bankruptcy but did not include our home. We have been faithfully paying our mortgage through Bank of America the whole time. As we get closer to ending this whole process we now see that our home value has drastically fallen ( big surprise huh?) We have a mortgage of $75k on a house that might be able to sell for $40k if we are lucky in this economy. The neighborhood has changed for the worse and we can no longer stand to live here. I am a full time Firefighter and also a into management in my second career. I now make a very good living around 100k. My credit is slowly improving 663 and we now are almost completely debt free ( minus the house). Now heres my question.....

Wanting / or should I say needing to move to a better neighborhood for my family, what is the best course of action to take here? My current mortgage is also killing me with a 8.75% interest rate (tell me about it). I am terrified of hurting my slowly improving credit score. I would have absolutely no problems foreclosing on this if that is possible as renting this house out would also be a big nightmare. But will this do damage to my score? And is there still time seeing I am only 4 months from being done. My attorney isn't much help as we have been trying to call him for the past 2 weeks and he still hasn't returned our calls. Would refinancing my current home to get a better rate hurt my ability to buy a new home? I would like to purchase a new home as soon as this plan is done...most likely spring of this coming year....thanks to any who read all the way through this. Any help is much appreciated.

how are the rentals doing in your area?