top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Dismiss and Refile to Strip 2nd (need helP really lost)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dismiss and Refile to Strip 2nd (need helP really lost)

Hello, I am in my 4th year (confirmed 4/2009) of 5 year plan. I have paid 25k into the plan with a balance of 7k. Now my house is underwater and I approached my attorney he suggested I dismiss my case and refile to strip the 60k amount owed on my second. My current monthly payment is 600 per month. I just can't see the benefit of going another 5 years paying 600 per month. I am currenlty completing my scheulde J (expenses) i asked for the law office to first give me an estimate of my projected monthly payments before I agree to dismiss my case. I can add more expenses to get my monthly down expecially since i modified my first mortage and the payment is 400 per month less..........

so when they refile if i have almost paid back all of my secured debt (7k left to pay) what is the new plan payment based on? I also had 65k in credit card debt. When I look at the breakdownof my balance i owe about 4k to IRS and then it shows one unsecured creditor receiving the remaining amount of 3k.

Wht to Do???

Hi there,

What a choice. As for me, there would be no choice. I am so grateful my plan is only 3 years. More than even having a higher payment, I dreaded the idea that it could have been 5 years. So for me, I wouldn't do it. I want to taste my freedom to much to consider the thought of BK for 10 years of my life. However, that's me.