BK Attorney Shopping.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

BK Attorney Shopping.

Hi All. I am beginning to seriously consider ch13. I would like to hear from you what you looked for in an attorney when you filed. I intend to shop around, but thought I would ask some vets on what their 'aha' moment was when they picked their attorney.

Maybe I put this post in the wrong area?

Comment

Do shop around....only advice I can give as I did not...I consider myself to have good instincts and did a lot of online research before I set up an appointment.Chose a practice that was started by a father with 30 plus years under his belt and went in for consultation.Assigned to the son of the founder and initially thought I didn't need to look further.I'm coming to realize the son is not as experienced as I thought as there has been some errors on his part,not big ones,but errors the same.I'm still new to the process as I filed 11-25,had 341 on 12-12 and am awaiting confirmation. But I've done and will continue to do a lot of research on line. My aha moment was when I found bkforum after I filed....wish I'd found it earlier! Shop around and do your research!!!

Comment

We picked our attorney sight unseen from a list in a Google search. On the initial consult, it seemed that she understood our situation and was very 'simpatico', and we retained her on the spot.

It was only later, after we filed, that she truly did not know her stuff, and allowed us to make all kinds of costly mistakes, that we need not have. She also was non-communicate. Her helper, 'Sue' (I do not know if she was a paralegal) was very helpful. But when she left, and 'Adam' arrived on scene, all communication stopped.

We went to bk court and tried to fire her from our case--but the damage was already done, and would have delayed discharge of our case even longer that it was.