top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How much trustee involvement during the 5 year payment period?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How much trustee involvement during the 5 year payment period?

Hi,

Newbie here. Below is my brief current situation:

Annual Income:
    W2 - $86,000
    Rental1 - $26,000
    Rental2 - $30,000
    Rental3 - $57,000
    My house - $12,000 (income from roommates)

Debts/current value:
    Rental1 - $120,000/$35,000 (severely under water)
    Rental2 - $220,000/$60,000 (severely under water)
    Rental3 - $225,000/$300,000
    My house - $180,000/$250,000
    My car - $15,000/$20,000
    No credit card or other debts

I'm in my late thirties with no dependents and good health. I have a decent amount of cash on hand.

I'm seriously considering file Chapter13 to make my two rental properties (Rental1 and Rental2) to cash flow. Currently they're about breakeven (and soon to be negative) because of stagnant rent and skyrocketing fixed expenses: taxes, utilities, labor, legal, etc. I've heard about "cramdown" which reduces the mortgage balance of investment property to the current market value. In my case, the mortgage balance of Rental1 and Rental2 would be reduced to around $35K and $60K respectively.

After a ton of reading through Google, I still have questions. One of them is how much involvement would the trustee be in my financial life? I'm always on the look to invest and plan to start my own business in the next few years. Do I have to explain all the extra money (any that exceeds $600) coming to my banking account? $600 is not much money. It would be a real pain in the neck to having to report the trustee of any income transactions over $600... If I purchase a shack with cash (for house flipping), do I have to report it to the trustee?