Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

luxury purchases

Hello,

I'm trying to ask this as straightforwardly as possible.

If you wait for 12 full calendar months after making luxury purchases (bowflex, higher end kitchen appliances) and cash advances, are you pretty safe from creditor objections or accusations of fraud?

I appreciate your experiences and information.

I am quite new to this bankruptcy process, but from what I've read, I think 12 months is a pretty safe amount of time to wait.

We just took a vacation in December, using our cc, and filed in March.

Good luck!
    Filed Chapter 7: 3-22-08
    341 Meeting: 5-15-08 It went great!!!
    Last day for objections: 7-14-08
    Discharged and Closed: 7-21-08

Comment

From what I've read on this forum and what I've gathered from meeting with lawyers, you will be ok. Now keep in mind, there are not hard and fast rules on any of this. By the way, I'm not sure refrigerators, etc., would qualify as "luxury" purchases if you needed them.
      But 12 month is considered a good waiting period ... But I don't think you want to run-up a bunch of purchases knowing ahead of time that you'll later wait 12 months to file for bk. That is where fraud comes into play.
      What have the lawyers said? ... Have you met with any?

Comment

Have you made payments on those various accounts?

Comment

Originally posted by sleeplessinohio View Post
          Hello,

I'm trying to ask this as straightforwardly as possible.

If you wait for 12 full calendar months after making luxury purchases (bowflex, higher end kitchen appliances) and cash advances, are you pretty safe from creditor objections or accusations of fraud?

I appreciate your experiences and information.