Inheritance & Chapter 7

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Inheritance & Chapter 7

Newbie here! Thank you to all who have gone before me in Chapter 7. I've searched the boards for my question, but haven't seen what I'm looking for so I'm posting.

My husby & I filed Chap. 7 on 1/14/09 - 341 on 2/9/09. We are pro se and I even received a call from our state capital BK office with a compliment on my forms filed. They gave me an A+. Wish that totally settled my nerves - not.

Here's the question - I am the beneficiary to an inheritance contingent on the sale of a home which is in probate. I have included it on my BK forms, however left the amount 0 as I do not know what the amount will be. It could be as much as my debts which I filed for.

The home in probate now has an offer, has been in escrow for 2 weeks with a request for a 30 day escrow. The paperwork I have received states the sale will go through on 2/18/09 if I do not have any objections.

This means that I will most likely receive the $$ within the 180 day period.

Has anyone ever been in the situation where the trustee has not seized an inheritance within the 180 day period?

I am pondering whether to object to the sale of the home to delay receiving the $$$.

I am in Texas.

Thank you for any input

No. As a matter of fact, inheritance is one of the items that the Trustee SPECIFICALLY mentions as an item that belongs to the BK estate up to and thru 180 days after discharge.

I forgot to say that at the 341 I had to sign an affidavit stating that I did not expect any inheritance in the next 6 months and submit it to the panel Trustee.
    Last edited by StartingOver08; 02-03-2009, 06:00 PM.
    Filed CH 7 9/30/2008
    Discharged Jan 5, 2009! Closed Jan 18, 2009

I am not an attorney. None of my advice is legal advice in any way..

Comment