When does the UST get involved?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

When does the UST get involved?

Anyone? I have about $80,000 in cc debt and a $20,000 second mortgage. My house is going into foreclosure and I own my (only) car outright--kbb value about $3,000. I have no other assets other than household furnishings that aren't worth much and office equipment necessary for my work. I have two dependents. I'm a self-employed consultant with a home office and think I can probably come in under the median when I file. Also, my net income for the past several years would have put me under the median for those years as well.

Does anyone see any reason for the UST to get involved? Based upon what I have read here, it seems like most cases go pretty smoothly unless the UST shows up to the 341. Am I wrong?

Does anyone see any reason why I should be concerned?

Thanks in advance . . . . !

Originally posted by kathy4530050 View Post
    Anyone? I have about $80,000 in cc debt and a $20,000 second mortgage. My house is going into foreclosure and I own my (only) car outright--kbb value about $3,000. I have no other assets other than household furnishings that aren't worth much and office equipment necessary for my work. I have two dependents. I'm a self-employed consultant with a home office and think I can probably come in under the median when I file. Also, my net income for the past several years would have put me under the median for those years as well.

Does anyone see any reason for the UST to get involved? Based upon what I have read here, it seems like most cases go pretty smoothly unless the UST shows up to the 341. Am I wrong?

I think you should be OK based on what you have stated. From what I have seen 100K+ is the tipping point in unsecured debt, and over the median is another one. However, the UST can audit any case they wish to- I believe that stat to be around 1 in 1000.

You income is based on your last 6 mos on the day you file.