top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Stopped paying bills. What to say to the vulures when they call?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Stopped paying bills. What to say to the vulures when they call?

Hello again and I can't tell you how glad I am I found this place!

I need help from you all that have stopped paying mortgage, cc's, and car payments? When they start burning up my phone wire what should you say to them? Anything? Should I take all my possesions out of my car in case they do a late night repo? I have just stopped paying my bills so, yes, I am a bigtime newbie on the boards. Any advice would be great.

Don't talk to creditors. When they call you can identify yourself so they know they have the correct person. You can send them a cease and desist letter so they don't call your work or your friends and neighbors. Beyond that, if you give them any additional information, they will use it against you or accelerate the collection process. So just don't offer them anything by way of informing them of your intentions.

Comment

I have yet to file BK Chap 7 but probably will when I settle my separation. I have been told to stop paying. Even though I haven't filed should I still not tell them anything and send a letter? Much appreciated by the way.

Comment

An answering machine or voice mail with your correct name and phone number is your best friend.
        All information contained in this post is for informational and amusement purposes only.
        Bankruptcy is a process, not an event.......

Comment