Abandonment, Discharge, and No Distribution Report

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Abandonment, Discharge, and No Distribution Report

I am a pro se filer. Filed: April 22, 2011. 341 Mtg.: June 1. Report of No Distribution: June 8, 2011.

My mortgage lender began foreclosure on my home before I filed for Chapter 7 protection.

The lender received an Order granting Relief from the Automatic Stay on June 22, 2011. Neither I nor the Trustee objected to this order and I am fully supportive of getting the house back to the bank as soon as possible.

The bank now would like to dispense with the formal foreclosure process (the formal state judicial case is on hold pending the BK discharge) and has suggested that we pursue a Deed in Lieu of Foreclosure.

I am, however, unsure if the property has formally been abandoned by the Trustee and whether I have the legal right to enter into such an agreement. The Trustee did give me verbal approval to sell property (during the 341 Meeting I asked that he allow me to sell some property to provide cash for living expenses), he has filed a Report of No Distribution, and he did not object to the lifting of the auto. stay on the home, but I'm not sure any of these actions provide me with the legal support to enter into a Deed in Lieu agreement.

Typically, I believe that the abandonment occurs with the discharge. Am I okay to enter into this agreement prior to discharge and/or closing of my BK case?

(I have sent a brief note to the Trustee asking for explicit approval for this action, but have not heard back yet.)

Thoughts?

what did you put on your statement of intent on the property??

surrender, retain, redeem, reaffirm? other...and did you claim the property as exempt?? these are the questions i do think may need to be answered.

if you did mark surrender, i would be on that deed in lieu like a you know what on a you know what!! do not pass go, to not look back...grab it...along with a signed release document!!!