New to all of this...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to all of this...

GoodMorning and thank you for reading my post!

I am new to this and have just started the process. Met with 3 lawyers and decided to go with one who is certified bankruptcy lawyer
    and this is all he does. He believes I can qualify for a Chapter 7.

Here is my situation:
    Live in Palm Beach County
    Make 86,000
    Have almost 60,000 in cc debt
    own my own
    all bills are current……but I have no money left over every month

I recently purchased disability ins, hospital ins and a cancer policy. I have not lowered my car insurance yet but I can if needed. I do also have a life insurance policy.
    I quit paying all of my cc bills just this month.

Is there anything else I can do in this pre planning stage? I hope to give my lawyer a down payment on Dec 23 (Merry Christmas to me!)
    and I have started getting all my paperwork in order and started filling out his paperwork re to expenses.

Thank you for any guidance! So so appreciated!

My income and cc debt were very similar to yours. In my case, I have a high mortgage payment which really helped me qualify for a 7.

Are you contributing to your 401k at work? That's an easy 3-6% of your income spoken for if not.

What is your car payment? Your credit is going to suffer so buying a new car with a higher payment may be a good idea. I did that.

Are you working overtime? There is a 6-month look back so if you're working extra, stop. I did this and waited 6 months at the advice of my lawyer.
    Chapter 7, above median, no asset. Discharged with no UST involvement.

Comment