Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Means Test

Hi everyone, great forum!

I am just starting my research into the Chapter 7 & 13 process. We have a family of 3 and have been trying to work through credit card debt for a while, with little luck. I am self employed, my wife works a regular 9-5 job. My income varies a lot. More in the spring and summer, less in the fall and winter. I work as a consultant, so I have no inventory or anything like that. I have a home office with a computer set up, desk, printer and filing cabinets. Here is what I have come up with so far after just recently completing my 2014 taxes.

Our income for 2014 is about $15,000 over the median income.

Our average income over the past 6 months figures to about $12,000 below the median income.

I don't know what my income will be over the next 6 months. If I guess using last years, it would be over the median, but it can vary year to year.

We have a house and 2 leased cars and no other major assets. We have about 15K in equity in our home based on a recent refinance appraisal. That appears to be well within what is allowed for the exemptions. 80K in unsecured CC debt and loans.

Of course, I think most would like go Chapter 7 and get fresh start right away. But, if I can manage a 13 plan, I believe we have learned enough from our experiences to do it. We were both laid off from work right after the financial collapse in 2008 and have since added a baby to the mix. Kicking the can down the road got us here.

I know they use the forward looking approach as well in this process. So, here are my questions.