I'm so lost....Do I file?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I'm so lost....Do I file?

First and foremost, I apologize if it's not proper etiquette to create a post asking this question. My head and heart are throbbing, I've read just about as much as I can, and I'm scared that the attorney just wants me to file because he wants money.

I'm 26. I lost my good job at 23, ran up 18k in credit cards and medical bills, and had to go away for health treatment for 7 months.

I also have 12k in a car loan and 16k in student loans. I'm a cum laude graduate with a BBA from a good college.

I finally got back to work and am making $10/hr.

A credit card company just gave me a summons to collect a debt and I'm scared that the rest of them are coming soon. The only thing I can really afford is my low grade apartment and my car payment to get to work.

I don't know where to turn, nor what to do. The attorney says to file Ch. 7 to get a fresh start because I'll never catch up.

Can I please have some advice on what to do? I don't know if I'll ever get another good job, but I'm sure I'll be stuck making $10/hr. for a very long time. My debts have been non-paid for a very long time (7mo. - 2yr.)

The final answer to your financial condition will always rest with you. I would consult with a few more bankruptcy attorneys and run all the numbers. First, remember that a Chapter 7 is the nuclear option and you can't use it again for 8 years. Second, filing bankruptcy will relieve you from these bills, payments, and the pending lawsuit. Third, you are right, you don't know if the other creditors are lining up. Fourth, if the creditor or creditors do obtain judgments, they may be able to garnish your wages in Michigan. (I don't know Michigan law on garnishments, but imagine them getting 25% of your pay until the judgment is paid in full).