20/20 Debt collection special on ABC

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

20/20 Debt collection special on ABC

Did anyone see the 20/20 insider review on debt collection on ABC tonight? Unbelievable!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! They are playing voicemails from debt collectors violating the laws. WOW. I can't believe they do that crap
    Chapter 7 Pro Se....Discharged Feb. 2006

(Cindy, I deleted your duplicate post so all the replies will be here in one thread.)

Darn it! I would have liked to see this but didn't know it was on. I can only imagine what was aired. Collectors that deliberately break the law to strongarm people too poor to pay are scum, true bottom feeders of the worst sort.
    I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice nor a statement of the law - only a lawyer can provide those.

06/01/06 - Filed Ch 13
    06/28/06 - 341 Meeting
    07/18/06 - Confirmation Hearing - not confirmed, 3 objections
    10/05/06 - Hearing to resolve 2 trustee objections
    01/24/07 - Judge dismisses mortgage company objection
    09/27/07 - Confirmed at last!
    06/10/11 - Trustee confirms all payments made
    08/10/11 - DISCHARGED !

10/02/11 - CASE CLOSED
    Countdown: 60 months paid, 0 months to go

Comment

oops, my bad. thought i hadn't posted the first one.
      Chapter 7 Pro Se....Discharged Feb. 2006

Comment

I think it is a repeat of a January show.

This is the companion website for the show
        ABC News: Debt Collector Do's and Don'ts
        Tips from the Federal Trade Commission for dealing with debt collectors.

Made me glad to see the media is talking about this at least. When my mother-in-law died I got several calls looking for my husband (also deceased!) and the collector implied that the surviving family members were responsible for old debts from a decade ago. Current bills owed should come out of any estate funds of course but if not enough to cover debt, sorry, nada!! She left just enough to bury her and cover a few med bills.