Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Just how bad will your credit get?

Hello,

I have just stopped paying my credit cards and am 60 days late. Not because I want to but b/c I sell Real Estate for a living. Need I say more? Anyways the carcass is not that rotten yet and the vultures are calling 5 times a day. I have heard to hold out for as long as you can and they will settle (AMEX $9,900) and BOA ($18,500). Just how bad will my credit score get before settlement offers arrive? I have told them all that I am getting a divorce and that I meet the means test to file BK7 or that I am considering Foreclosure. Matter of fact it will be either of the two depending on my divorce settlement. Should I also be telling my creditors what is going on? Thanks.

I filed for BK because of having a hard time keeping up with the payments. How credit looked at the time I was struggling was the least of my worries. But before I filed for bk I was 90 days late on my cards and my score was in the low 500's.
    This Forum is better than any lawyer I met.

Comment

The quick answer to this is, if you have to ask, you already know the answer.

Like many of the rest of us....

Too much debt
      Late payments
      Not enough income
      Creditors hounding you.

Your credit sucks!

You don't owe anyone an explanation about your situation except for yourself. The collection agencies only care about one thing, and that is for you to pay the bill (and in full, TODAY!).

Study, read, prepare. Welcome to newfound freedom.
      All information contained in this post is for informational and amusement purposes only.
      Bankruptcy is a process, not an event.......

Comment

It will be bad for about 7 years, and then all the negative stuff falls off, and you once again have stellar credit.
        The world's simplest C & D Letter:
        "I demand that you cease and desist from any communication with me."