Tax Foreclosure Question / GA

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tax Foreclosure Question / GA

I have received the letters regarding property taxes that haven't paid yet that state if not paid in full by June 22, 2009, the collection agency is going to assist the tax commissioner in tax foreclosure proceedings on my property.

I don't have the money or the desire to pay these, and am about 3 - 4 months away from being ready to file, so what are the upsides and downsides to this situation.

Money is owed to the bank on these properties, so how is the bank going to react and what will they do?

Thanks in advance.
    All information contained in this post is for informational and amusement purposes only.
    Bankruptcy is a process, not an event.......

A question first....do you plan to keep the house when you file?
    I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice nor a statement of the law - only a lawyer can provide those.

06/01/06 - Filed Ch 13
    06/28/06 - 341 Meeting
    07/18/06 - Confirmation Hearing - not confirmed, 3 objections
    10/05/06 - Hearing to resolve 2 trustee objections
    01/24/07 - Judge dismisses mortgage company objection
    09/27/07 - Confirmed at last!
    06/10/11 - Trustee confirms all payments made
    08/10/11 - DISCHARGED !

10/02/11 - CASE CLOSED
    Countdown: 60 months paid, 0 months to go

Comment

Originally posted by lrprn View Post
      A question first....do you plan to keep the house when you file?
      No. I have not paid the property taxes on most of my rental properties. I do not intend to keep. I have no desire to keep. I just need to keep things flexible with my banks until I can file bk, which is going to be around September of this year. Still on relatively good terms with the banks, just trying to keep the wolves at bay. To pay the property taxes would be about $60K that I do not have. I'm good on the insurance, which is a big issue, I just don't know how much they may pinch me over the taxes.