top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Question regarding modification of Chapter 13 bankruptcy plan.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Question regarding modification of Chapter 13 bankruptcy plan.

Hello, I have a question. My bankruptcy that I filed back in 2019 is about to be discharged. There is a section in the proceedings that is asking me to surrender my house over to my mortgage company. Based off some research, I found out that if I surrender my home to the mortgage lender, then I will be giving up all my rights to my home including ownership. I do not want to surrender ownership of my home as it took me 20 years to even buy a home. Is there a way I can still do the discharge while maintaining ownership of my property? I am a US Veteran and got my home through the GI Bill.

Something about this whole deal isn't sitting right with me. I fought long and hard to maintain my payments and yet all that seems to be for naught.
    Any answers anyone can give me would be greatly appreciated.​

Have you been making consistent and on-time mortgage payments throughout your Chapter 13? Generally speaking you will still own the property. The only way to take away your ownership rights, at least in Florida, is for a foreclosure lawsuit to be filed and for the foreclosure to be granted and the property sold. There is something in the filing known as the Statement of Intentions (SOI) and that may say something like "retain and pay" or "surrender." It looks like surrender may have been the intention but it's not what you did.

As I see that you have maintained your payments I would say that you are just looking at the SOI and it is meaningless at this point. Just keep doing what you are doing by paying on-time and maintaining your hazard insurance. If you want that form explained in more detail you'll have to see your attorney. I'm pretty sure you're looking at the SOI form.