Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

No way out!

Hello,

I am new to his forum. It seems everyone here is pretty open-minded, so I thought it was safe to post my thoughts, experience and fears here.

I am 29 years old, married with 3 children. I am a good person (although I have been told I am not because I am in debt and can't pay my bills)

I was about to start nursing school in the fall of 2007, when my husband was permanently laid off from his job. So I did, at the time, the only logical thing that I thought I could do: Take out a private loan and live off of it until I graduated. Well the money went faster than expected and since the Michigan economy is terrible my husband wasn't able to find a job. I dropped from Nursing school to get a full time job that paid $7.40 an hour. We lost everything: both cars,our belongings because we were evicted and our dignity. Now I have about $70,000 in total debt.

My husband now has a job as well; it pays $7.40 an hour as well. Together we make about $1,700 a month. We live at my mom's house and sleep on an air mattress on her living room floor --the kids have their own room thank God! Our bills total to about $3,000 a month. We are drowning in debt and we own nothing. Most of the debt is from student loans. What do I do?

Student loans aren't dischargible in court. Our loans cost us more than we make in a month. Should I still consult a bankruptcy lawyer even though the loans won't be discharged? Or is it just a waste of my time?

BTW, I have returned to school. I will not let this experience keep me from getting an education!

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

J.M.

Is it one student loan or many?

If it is many have you looked into consolidating them into one student loan.

Otherwise you might look at deferment while you get yourself back on your feet.