Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help with my situation

I am a Wisconsin resident.

When I was 18 (6 years ago) I incurred a lot of debt (credit cards, etc.) and basically just let it ride (ignoring phone calls for this whole time). I made a few attempts to get out of this hole, but no matter what I tried, I fell behind. The phone calls kept coming and I just retreated more and more.

On December 23rd I received papers that I must attend court on January 16th 2012. I am being sued for the value of $2100. This was a wake up call.

I was finally able to contact a lawyer today to set up my appointment.

I am scared. I don't really have any savings to my name and I don't know what to expect if I am unable to file for Bankruptcy before January 16th. If I had my wages garnished it will make things a lot harder. What typically happens at court appointments like this?

I know my question is very broad, but I am so frustrated and scared right now. I don't know the next steps. I just need guidance. Thank you in advance if you can assist with help at all.

We need more info to help you. How old are you now? How much do you owe altogether? Might you be reaching SOL on some?
    For 2100$, bk does not make sense.

And doesn't Wisconsin have some special plan? I think it does and it's a good one.

Deep breath, you will be fine. Keep reading and asking questions. And... WELCOME.

Keep On Smilin'

Comment

Originally posted by keepsmiling View Post
      We need more info to help you. How old are you now? How much do you owe altogether? Might you be reaching SOL on some?
      For 2100$, bk does not make sense.

And doesn't Wisconsin have some special plan? I think it does and it's a good one.

Deep breath, you will be fine. Keep reading and asking questions. And... WELCOME.