Wage garnishment after changing to 1099 Employee

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Wage garnishment after changing to 1099 Employee

Hello, I currently have my wages garnished by a creditor. I recently took a new position with a different company and I start in 2 weeks.

When I put in my 2 week notice with my current employer they offered me a part time role as a consultant under a 1099. Since my status with my current employer is changing to 1099 do they need to continue garnishing my wages for the creditor?

Side note, I get a sign on bonus with my new employer after 30 days and I plan to contact the creditor to set up a new payment plan using the bonus as down payment.

Thank you in advance for any feedback on this type of situation.

Welcome to BKForum.

I'm not a collections expert, but I would always use care when discussing anything with a judgment creditor. In fact, I would not speak with my judgment creditor at all unless required through an interrogatory.

Originally posted by danv1369 View Post
    When I put in my 2 week notice with my current employer they offered me a part time role as a consultant under a 1099. Since my status with my current employer is changing to 1099 do they need to continue garnishing my wages for the creditor?.
    I would say that the creditor would likely not be able to garnish a 1099 since it's a payment to a vendor, and not wages. You would technically be a vendor (contractor) and not an employee. The question is whether the court order includes a levy against non-employment compensation (not used for payment of employee wages).

Personally, I would not use the bonus as a down payment. I would use the bonus to establish and maintain a rainy-day fund (emergency fund). I would setup a new payment plan which hopefully doesn't include interest. In all likelihood, the creditor would continue the garnishment route since it is guaranteed if you're paid (taken before you receive your income).