Cat hair, carpet and vacuum cleaners!?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Cat hair, carpet and vacuum cleaners!?

I need advice from cat lovers in the forum. Dog lovers too!

My old vacuum cleaner died. No, it's not the belt, nor the bag, nor dirty roller brushes, etc. This time it's RIP. About time too, since the thing is almost 15 years old. And it's just as well, since it never did a good job of picking up cat hair from the wall-to-wall carpet I have in the bedrooms. All other areas are ceramic tile.

Now I'm in the market for a new vacuum cleaner and would appreciate recommendations from pet owners. What brand do you recommend? Any recommended specifications, such as wattage, etc.? I'm no expert at this AT ALL, I'm afraid.

My cat only has a short to medium coat, but he sheds an awful lot. I've read that indoor cats (which he is) shed all year long while cats that go outside shed mostly at certain times of year. I brush him daily but he still sheds so much! The vet says it's just common to his breed and that there's nothing wrong with him. I'm so glad he's trained not to go on the living room furniture! He sleeps on and sometimes IN my bed, but that's okay. He's my furbaby.

Anyway, how do you guys keep your carpet clean and relatively free of cat hair?
    BK 7 filed and discharged in 2004 after 30+ years of perfect credit. Life HAPPENS.