Federal Exemptions Wildcard?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Federal Exemptions Wildcard?

If I read the legal lingo correctly, it appears I can exempt my $10,000 claim against Uber by tapping the unused Federal Homestead Exemption, "currently set at $13,950," according to Nolo (https://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclope...-property.html)

What do you think, Des? I'll also ask one of the "Pro Se Bankruptcy Attorneys" @ my appointment in a few weeks.

I wish I could comment on the use of Federal Exemptions. I am in an opt-out state and rarely use the Federal list. Your best bet is to discuss with an attorney who routinely uses Federal Exemptions. Sorry. . .

Des.

Comment

Florida has opted out from allowing the federal exemptions so I have no experience as to whether they restrict how the wildcard is utilized.
      Chapter 7 (No Asset/Non-Consumer) Filed (Pro Se) 7/08 (converted from Chapter 13 - 2/10)
      Visit My BKForum Blog: justbroke's Blog

Any advice provided is not legal advice, but simply the musings of a fellow bankrupt.

Comment

Washington is one of those states that allow either the State or Federal Exemptions .. I'm just not 100% sure if $10,000 cash can be exempted with a Wild Card, or if I'm missing the fine print somewhere.

Comment

No one wants to give you the wrong information and you lose property or money.
          Chapter 7 (No Asset/Non-Consumer) Filed (Pro Se) 7/08 (converted from Chapter 13 - 2/10)
          Visit My BKForum Blog: justbroke's Blog

Any advice provided is not legal advice, but simply the musings of a fellow bankrupt.

Comment

Originally posted by TurnThePage View Post
            Washington is one of those states that allow either the State or Federal Exemptions .. I'm just not 100% sure if $10,000 cash can be exempted with a Wild Card, or if I'm missing the fine print somewhere.