Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie Here...

Hi,

I have recently made the decision to file for Chapter 7 bankruptcy. I stumbled upon this forum, and I would like to share my story, hoping someone has a similar one. I'm 28, live in a very very very expensive part of the country, and racked up $20,000 worth of credit card debt since I was in my early twenties. How? I'm not too sure. But I wasn't blessed with a great career, even though I have a college degree. Even though I was never late on payments, a bad year career wise (a company lay off, and then a bad career move) led me to start being late. As if I wasn't struggling enough, the late payments led to higher interest rates, and higher payments.

At first I was determined to get out of debt. I've been living with my parents this whole time (which is BECAUSE of this evil debt), and I figured, how can I NOT do this? I don't have a mortgage or kids. However, I couldn't do it. I tried doing it for awhile but my entire life purpose was to pay off this debt and I lost who I was. I cried every night, was miserable all the time, watched all of my friends get married, buy houses, and have kids, and all I did was pay off this monsterous debt with my mediocore salary.

I was once a free spirited girl who had dreams and knew what she wanted. Suddenly I felt like a failure who couldn't afford to buy new underwear. Then....something happened.

I got pregnant with my long term boyfriend. We were going to abort the baby because of the debt. (Can you believe it? lol), and then I sat down, did some soul searching, and said...NO. I'M Done! And I called up a bankruptcy lawyer. I decided that I didn't care about the stigma of bankruptcy. Credit cards have ruined my life up to this point and I'm no longer going to let it happen.