X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

25 years old and need advice on bankruptcy... please help

Hi everyone,

Of course it is embarrassing, but before I can get my finances in order, I am going to need to file bankruptcy and learn the lesson the hard way. I am 25 years old and have almost $30,000 in credit card debt (it's the only debt I have). I used to be able to pay off the minimum every month, but now that I'm a full-time student, I see no other way out than bankruptcy.

Do you all think I should open a new checking account at a different bank before I do so? If so, a national bank or a local credit union? All my credit card debts are through my current bank, and I'm afraid that they may cancel my checking account if I file.

Also, should I be answering all the phone calls I get? I am so scared. I still have about $500 left for cash advance on a card through my bank that I want to use on obligatory bills (rent, utilities, etc.) before I file, but I'm afraid that since the bank is already calling me every day, that something about that is fraudulent, even though it is my personal line of credit.

Please help - should I open a new checking acct. before I do this?!

Thanks everyone.

Originally posted by ava1983 View Post
    Hi everyone,

First of all, welcome to help and you are with a friendly community.

Of course it is embarrassing, but before I can get my finances in order, I am going to need to file bankruptcy and learn the lesson the hard way. I am 25 years old and have almost $30,000 in credit card debt (it's the only debt I have). I used to be able to pay off the minimum every month, but now that I'm a full-time student, I see no other way out than bankruptcy. Forget the embarrassing crap. We've all been there. Get over that. Well poor planning as a full time student. What did you do for income before?