What do you think?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Question What do you think?

So all, here is an ethics issue that I would be interested in input from attorneys and laypeople alike.

I am an attorney that practices bankruptcy law. As attorneys know, you meet with clients and some decide to go elsewhere. I had a meeting with a potential client who owned a large collection of high priced objects. Because of this large collection, they were on the verge of not being able to file a Chapter 7 case because of exemption issues. I asked him to get an appraisal of all these items to better understand how much they were worth. He signed an agreement with me and left some of his paperwork with me. During the meeting, he acted shifty and I could tell he was hesitant to tell me about this collection of items at all. A few days later, I received a call from him asking for his file of paperwork back because he "didn't want to lose his collection". I explained that he wouldn't necessarily lose his collection at all, just that I wanted to make sure we had a correct value on the collection for exemption purposes. As some of these people are, he wasn't the smartest chip and I doubt he was listening or comprehending anything I was saying. Our office returned the file and nothing was heard from him again.

Move to a few months later, I was in court attending 341 meetings with my clients and come to see him sitting there waiting for his attorney for a chapter 7 341. I highly suspect he probably lied to his new attorney about this collection of items and didn't disclose these items at all. I did not speak with him at his hearing and did not attend his hearing as I was busy with my own clients.